CVE-2026-9762

Local code execution via attacker-controlled JDBC URL

Published Jul 17, 2026 · Updated Jul 17, 2026

Code injection in IBM Db2 11.5.0 through 11.5.9 and 12.1.0 through 12.1.4 allows local users to execute code via a controlled JDBC URL. IBM has not disclosed how the Data Server Driver for JDBC and SQLJ processes an attacker-controlled URL to generate executable code. A low-privileged local user must control the JDBC URL; successful exploitation executes code in the affected client process.

CVSS severity7.8
High
EPSS probability0.17%
Next 30 days · Sep 16, 2026
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Based on sourced intelligence
Hinoki checkNot available
Coverage for this vulnerability

See if you're affected

Explore vulnerability checks for your environment with Hinoki.

Book a demo

Summary

What happened

Code injection in IBM Db2 11.5.0 through 11.5.9 and 12.1.0 through 12.1.4 allows local users to execute code via a controlled JDBC URL. IBM has not disclosed how the Data Server Driver for JDBC and SQLJ processes an attacker-controlled URL to generate executable code. A low-privileged local user must control the JDBC URL; successful exploitation executes code in the affected client process.

The record

CVE
CVE-2026-9762
Published
Jul 17, 2026
Updated
Jul 17, 2026
Vendor
OpenBMC Project
Product
Db2
Classifications
CWE-94
Attack vector
local
Privileges
authenticated

Timeline

How it unfolded

  1. Jul 17, 2026CVE publishedPublication date reported by the CVE source.
  2. Jul 17, 2026Record updatedLatest update available in the CVE record.

Exploitability

Present is not the same as exploitable

Compare your product and version with the public record. A matching version still requires validation against your environment.

Is a vulnerable build present?

Compare these published version ranges with your installed build and any vendor patches.

  1. Affected versionversion=11.5.0 <=11.5.9
  2. Affected versionversion=12.1.0 <=12.1.4

What conditions does exploitation require?

Attack vectorlocal
Required privilegesauthenticated

What is affected?

OpenBMC Project · Db2version=11.5.0 <=11.5.9; version=12.1.0 <=12.1.4

Published CVSS scores

7.8IBM CorporationCVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H

CVSS describes severity. EPSS estimates exploitation probability.

Attacks

What attackers are doing with it

Daily unique IPs observed by Shadowserver honeypots for known exploited vulnerabilities (KEVs). Missing observations do not establish an absence of attacks.

Daily unique IPsNo honeypot observations are available for this CVE in the selected window.

No observations available

Sep 10, 2026Sep 16, 2026
Latest reporting daySep 16, 2026
Latest daily unique IPsUnavailable
Prior 30-day averageUnavailable
SourceShadowserver honeypots (KEV)
Vectorlocal
Privilegesauthenticated
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Public exploitUnconfirmed

Weakness, pattern, technique

CWE-94Improper Control of Generation of Code ('Code Injection')

Public exploit references

No public exploit references are available in this record.

Labels summarize the accepted research assessment. They do not indicate a test against your environment.

Technologies

Your stack

See the directory against your own environment.

Your stack

Check the software in your environment

Book a demo to see how Hinoki identifies affected software and validates exploitability in your environment.

Book a demo