Local privilege escalation via use after free
Published Oct 13, 2026 · Updated Oct 13, 2026
Use after free in Microsoft Windows Desktop Window Manager allows local users to elevate privileges through unspecified local operations. The CNA record identifies freed-memory use but does not disclose the affected function, object lifetime, or triggering input. Exploitation requires existing local authorization; the resulting privilege level is not stated, and no remote attack path is described.
Summary
What happened
Use after free in Microsoft Windows Desktop Window Manager allows local users to elevate privileges through unspecified local operations. The CNA record identifies freed-memory use but does not disclose the affected function, object lifetime, or triggering input. Exploitation requires existing local authorization; the resulting privilege level is not stated, and no remote attack path is described.
The record
- CVE
- CVE-2026-96108
- Published
- Oct 13, 2026
- Updated
- Oct 13, 2026
- Vendor
- Microsoft Corporation
- Product
- Windows Server 2019
- Classifications
- CWE-416, T1068
- Attack vector
- local
- Privileges
- authenticated
Timeline
How it unfolded
- Oct 13, 2026CVE publishedPublication date reported by the CVE source.
- Oct 13, 2026Record updatedLatest update available in the CVE record.
Exploitability
Present is not the same as exploitable
Compare your product and version with the public record. A matching version still requires validation against your environment.
Is a vulnerable build present?
Compare these published version ranges with your installed build and any vendor patches.
- Affected versionversion=10.0.17763.0 <10.0.17763.9376
What conditions does exploitation require?
What is affected?
Published CVSS scores
CVSS describes severity. EPSS estimates exploitation probability.
Attacks
What attackers are doing with it
Daily unique IPs observed by Shadowserver honeypots for known exploited vulnerabilities (KEVs). Missing observations do not establish an absence of attacks.
Activity data is delayed. The latest report is Sep 28, 2026.
Public exploit references
No public exploit references are available in this record.
Labels summarize the accepted research assessment. They do not indicate a test against your environment.
Technologies
Your stack
See the directory against your own environment.
Your stack
Check the software in your environment
Get started to see how Hinoki identifies affected software and validates exploitability in your environment.
Get started