Unauthenticated command execution via undisclosed OS injection
Published Sep 18, 2026 · Updated Sep 18, 2026
OS command injection in IBM Guardium Data Protection 12.2 allows remote attackers to execute arbitrary commands via network requests. IBM identifies improper neutralization of special elements in an OS command but does not disclose the affected component, request field, or command-building operation. No authentication or user interaction is required; successful exploitation can read, alter, or interrupt data and services through appliance-level command execution.
Summary
What happened
OS command injection in IBM Guardium Data Protection 12.2 allows remote attackers to execute arbitrary commands via network requests. IBM identifies improper neutralization of special elements in an OS command but does not disclose the affected component, request field, or command-building operation. No authentication or user interaction is required; successful exploitation can read, alter, or interrupt data and services through appliance-level command execution.
The record
- CVE
- CVE-2026-82892
- Published
- Sep 18, 2026
- Updated
- Sep 18, 2026
- Vendor
- IBM
- Product
- Guardium Data Protection
- Classifications
- CWE-78, T1059
- Attack vector
- network
- Privileges
- unauthenticated
Timeline
How it unfolded
- Sep 18, 2026CVE publishedPublication date reported by the CVE source.
- Sep 18, 2026Record updatedLatest update available in the CVE record.
Exploitability
Present is not the same as exploitable
Compare your product and version with the public record. A matching version still requires validation against your environment.
Is a vulnerable build present?
Compare these published version ranges with your installed build and any vendor patches.
- Affected versionversion=12.2
What conditions does exploitation require?
What is affected?
Published CVSS scores
CVSS describes severity. EPSS estimates exploitation probability.
Attacks
What attackers are doing with it
Daily unique IPs observed by Shadowserver honeypots for known exploited vulnerabilities (KEVs). Missing observations do not establish an absence of attacks.
Activity data is delayed. The latest report is Sep 28, 2026.
Weakness, pattern, technique
Public exploit references
No public exploit references are available in this record.
Labels summarize the accepted research assessment. They do not indicate a test against your environment.
Technologies
Your stack
See the directory against your own environment.
Your stack
Check the software in your environment
Get started to see how Hinoki identifies affected software and validates exploitability in your environment.
Get started