CVE-2026-18078Network attack vector

Authenticated denial of service via Save Restore overflow

Published Sep 4, 2026 · Updated Sep 4, 2026

Integer overflow in Save Restore in IBMi 7.3 through 7.6 allows remote authenticated users to interrupt service via restore operations. IBM has not disclosed the affected arithmetic operation or how crafted Save Restore input reaches the overflow. Successful exploitation requires authenticated network access; IBM reports service interruption without data disclosure or modification.

CVSS severity4.3
Medium
EPSS probability0.29%
Next 30 days · Sep 16, 2026
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Based on sourced intelligence
Hinoki checkNot available
Coverage for this vulnerability

See if you're affected

Explore vulnerability checks for your environment with Hinoki.

Book a demo

Summary

What happened

Integer overflow in Save Restore in IBMi 7.3 through 7.6 allows remote authenticated users to interrupt service via restore operations. IBM has not disclosed the affected arithmetic operation or how crafted Save Restore input reaches the overflow. Successful exploitation requires authenticated network access; IBM reports service interruption without data disclosure or modification.

The record

CVE
CVE-2026-18078
Published
Sep 4, 2026
Updated
Sep 4, 2026
Vendor
IBM
Product
IBM i
Classifications
CWE-190, T1499.004
Attack vector
network
Privileges
authenticated

Timeline

How it unfolded

  1. Sep 4, 2026CVE publishedPublication date reported by the CVE source.
  2. Sep 4, 2026Record updatedLatest update available in the CVE record.

Exploitability

Present is not the same as exploitable

Compare your product and version with the public record. A matching version still requires validation against your environment.

Is a vulnerable build present?

Compare these published version ranges with your installed build and any vendor patches.

  1. Affected versionversion=7.3
  2. Affected versionversion=7.4
  3. Affected versionversion=7.5
  4. Affected versionversion=7.6

What conditions does exploitation require?

Attack vectornetwork
Required privilegesauthenticated

What is affected?

IBM · IBM iversion=7.3; version=7.4; version=7.5; version=7.6

Published CVSS scores

4.3IBM PSIRTCVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:N/A:L

CVSS describes severity. EPSS estimates exploitation probability.

Attacks

What attackers are doing with it

Daily unique IPs observed by Shadowserver honeypots for known exploited vulnerabilities (KEVs). Missing observations do not establish an absence of attacks.

Daily unique IPsNo honeypot observations are available for this CVE in the selected window.

No observations available

Sep 10, 2026Sep 16, 2026
Latest reporting daySep 16, 2026
Latest daily unique IPsUnavailable
Prior 30-day averageUnavailable
SourceShadowserver honeypots (KEV)
Vectornetwork
Privilegesauthenticated
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Public exploitUnconfirmed

Weakness, pattern, technique

CWE-190Integer Overflow or Wraparound
T1499.004Endpoint Denial of Service Application or System Exploitation

Public exploit references

No public exploit references are available in this record.

Labels summarize the accepted research assessment. They do not indicate a test against your environment.

Technologies

Your stack

See the directory against your own environment.

Your stack

Check the software in your environment

Book a demo to see how Hinoki identifies affected software and validates exploitability in your environment.

Book a demo