CVE-2025-43885

Local command execution via undisclosed Hyper-V injection

Published Sep 10, 2025 · Updated Sep 10, 2025

OS command injection in Dell PowerProtect Data Manager 19.19 and 19.20 Hyper-V allows local users to execute commands. Dell identifies the Hyper-V component but has not disclosed the vulnerable function, command construction, or attacker-controlled input. A low-privileged local account is required; the advisory reports command execution but does not state the resulting process identity or privilege level.

CVSS severity7.8
High
EPSS probability0.53%
Next 30 days · Sep 16, 2026
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Based on sourced intelligence
Hinoki checkNot available
Coverage for this vulnerability

See if you're affected

Explore vulnerability checks for your environment with Hinoki.

Book a demo

Summary

What happened

OS command injection in Dell PowerProtect Data Manager 19.19 and 19.20 Hyper-V allows local users to execute commands. Dell identifies the Hyper-V component but has not disclosed the vulnerable function, command construction, or attacker-controlled input. A low-privileged local account is required; the advisory reports command execution but does not state the resulting process identity or privilege level.

The record

CVE
CVE-2025-43885
Published
Sep 10, 2025
Updated
Sep 10, 2025
Vendor
Dell
Product
PowerProtect Data Manager
Classifications
CWE-78, T1059
Attack vector
local
Privileges
authenticated

Timeline

How it unfolded

  1. Sep 10, 2025CVE publishedPublication date reported by the CVE source.
  2. Sep 10, 2025Record updatedLatest update available in the CVE record.

Exploitability

Present is not the same as exploitable

Compare your product and version with the public record. A matching version still requires validation against your environment.

Is a vulnerable build present?

Compare these published version ranges with your installed build and any vendor patches.

  1. Affected versionversion=N/A <19.21 build 11

What conditions does exploitation require?

Attack vectorlocal
Required privilegesauthenticated

What is affected?

Dell · PowerProtect Data Managerversion=N/A <19.21 build 11

Published CVSS scores

7.8DellCVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H

CVSS describes severity. EPSS estimates exploitation probability.

Attacks

What attackers are doing with it

Daily unique IPs observed by Shadowserver honeypots for known exploited vulnerabilities (KEVs). Missing observations do not establish an absence of attacks.

Daily unique IPsNo honeypot observations are available for this CVE in the selected window.

No observations available

Sep 10, 2026Sep 16, 2026
Latest reporting daySep 16, 2026
Latest daily unique IPsUnavailable
Prior 30-day averageUnavailable
SourceShadowserver honeypots (KEV)
Vectorlocal
Privilegesauthenticated
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Public exploitUnconfirmed

Weakness, pattern, technique

CWE-78Improper Neutralization of Special Elements used in an OS Command ('OS Command Injection')
T1059Command and Scripting Interpreter

Public exploit references

No public exploit references are available in this record.

Labels summarize the accepted research assessment. They do not indicate a test against your environment.

Technologies

Your stack

See the directory against your own environment.

Your stack

Check the software in your environment

Book a demo to see how Hinoki identifies affected software and validates exploitability in your environment.

Book a demo