CVE-2025-36335

Local credential disclosure via plaintext storage

Published Apr 30, 2026 · Updated Apr 30, 2026

Plaintext credential storage in IBM watsonx.data intelligence 5.2.0, 5.2.1, 5.3.0, and 5.3.1 allows local users to read stored credentials. IBM has not disclosed the storage locus, credential type, or operation that writes the values without encryption. Local system access is sufficient, and the reported consequence is limited to credential confidentiality.

CVSS severity6.2
Medium
EPSS probability0.09%
Next 30 days · Sep 16, 2026
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Based on sourced intelligence
Hinoki checkNot available
Coverage for this vulnerability

See if you're affected

Explore vulnerability checks for your environment with Hinoki.

Book a demo

Summary

What happened

Plaintext credential storage in IBM watsonx.data intelligence 5.2.0, 5.2.1, 5.3.0, and 5.3.1 allows local users to read stored credentials. IBM has not disclosed the storage locus, credential type, or operation that writes the values without encryption. Local system access is sufficient, and the reported consequence is limited to credential confidentiality.

The record

CVE
CVE-2025-36335
Published
Apr 30, 2026
Updated
Apr 30, 2026
Vendor
IBM
Product
IBM watsonx.data intelligence
Classifications
CWE-256, T1552.001
Attack vector
local
Privileges
unauthenticated

Timeline

How it unfolded

  1. Apr 30, 2026CVE publishedPublication date reported by the CVE source.
  2. Apr 30, 2026Record updatedLatest update available in the CVE record.

Exploitability

Present is not the same as exploitable

Compare your product and version with the public record. A matching version still requires validation against your environment.

Is a vulnerable build present?

Compare these published version ranges with your installed build and any vendor patches.

  1. Affected versionversion=5.2.0, 5.2.1, 5.3.0, 5.3.1 <=1.8.4

What conditions does exploitation require?

Attack vectorlocal
Required privilegesunauthenticated

What is affected?

IBM · IBM watsonx.data intelligenceversion=5.2.0, 5.2.1, 5.3.0, 5.3.1 <=1.8.4

Published CVSS scores

5.5NVDCVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:N/A:N
6.2IBM CorporationCVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:N/A:N

CVSS describes severity. EPSS estimates exploitation probability.

Attacks

What attackers are doing with it

Daily unique IPs observed by Shadowserver honeypots for known exploited vulnerabilities (KEVs). Missing observations do not establish an absence of attacks.

Daily unique IPsNo honeypot observations are available for this CVE in the selected window.

No observations available

Sep 10, 2026Sep 16, 2026
Latest reporting daySep 16, 2026
Latest daily unique IPsUnavailable
Prior 30-day averageUnavailable
SourceShadowserver honeypots (KEV)
Vectorlocal
Privilegesunauthenticated
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Public exploitUnconfirmed

Weakness, pattern, technique

CWE-256Plaintext Storage of a Password
T1552.001Unsecured Credentials: Credentials In Files

Public exploit references

No public exploit references are available in this record.

Labels summarize the accepted research assessment. They do not indicate a test against your environment.

Technologies

Your stack

See the directory against your own environment.

Your stack

Check the software in your environment

Book a demo to see how Hinoki identifies affected software and validates exploitability in your environment.

Book a demo