CVE-2025-32981

Local read and modification of protected data

Published Apr 25, 2025 · Updated Apr 29, 2025

Incorrect default permissions in NETSCOUT nGeniusONE before 6.4.0 b2350 allow local users to read or alter protected nGeniusCLI data. The vendor identifies the nGeniusCLI file as the locus but does not disclose its permission mode, ownership, contents, or the precise operation exposed. A low-privileged local account is required; the published assessment limits the impact to confidentiality and integrity, with no service interruption.

CVSS severity7.1
High
EPSS probability0.22%
Next 30 days · Sep 16, 2026
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Based on sourced intelligence
Hinoki checkNot available
Coverage for this vulnerability

See if you're affected

Explore vulnerability checks for your environment with Hinoki.

Book a demo

Summary

What happened

Incorrect default permissions in NETSCOUT nGeniusONE before 6.4.0 b2350 allow local users to read or alter protected nGeniusCLI data. The vendor identifies the nGeniusCLI file as the locus but does not disclose its permission mode, ownership, contents, or the precise operation exposed. A low-privileged local account is required; the published assessment limits the impact to confidentiality and integrity, with no service interruption.

The record

CVE
CVE-2025-32981
Published
Apr 25, 2025
Updated
Apr 29, 2025
Vendor
Unknown vendor
Product
Unknown product
Classifications
CWE-276, CAPEC-1, CAPEC-81, CAPEC-127
Attack vector
local
Privileges
authenticated

Timeline

How it unfolded

  1. Apr 25, 2025CVE publishedPublication date reported by the CVE source.
  2. Apr 29, 2025Record updatedLatest update available in the CVE record.

Exploitability

Present is not the same as exploitable

Compare your product and version with the public record. A matching version still requires validation against your environment.

Is a vulnerable build present?

Affected buildAffected product and version details are unavailable.

What conditions does exploitation require?

Attack vectorlocal
Required privilegesauthenticated

What is affected?

Affected products and versions are unavailable in this record.

Published CVSS scores

7.1CISA-ADPCVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:N

CVSS describes severity. EPSS estimates exploitation probability.

Attacks

What attackers are doing with it

Daily unique IPs observed by Shadowserver honeypots for known exploited vulnerabilities (KEVs). Missing observations do not establish an absence of attacks.

Daily unique IPsNo honeypot observations are available for this CVE in the selected window.

No observations available

Sep 10, 2026Sep 16, 2026
Latest reporting daySep 16, 2026
Latest daily unique IPsUnavailable
Prior 30-day averageUnavailable
SourceShadowserver honeypots (KEV)
Vectorlocal
Privilegesauthenticated
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Public exploitUnconfirmed

Weakness, pattern, technique

CWE-276Incorrect Default Permissions
CAPEC-1Accessing Functionality Not Properly Constrained by ACLs
CAPEC-81Web Server Logs Tampering
CAPEC-127Directory Indexing

Public exploit references

No public exploit references are available in this record.

Labels summarize the accepted research assessment. They do not indicate a test against your environment.

Technologies

Your stack

See the directory against your own environment.

Your stack

Check the software in your environment

Book a demo to see how Hinoki identifies affected software and validates exploitability in your environment.

Book a demo