CVE-2025-24507

Local appliance compromise via boot command injection

Published Jan 30, 2025 · Updated Feb 5, 2025

OS command injection in Broadcom Symantec Privileged Access Management allows local users to compromise affected appliances during boot. Broadcom has not disclosed the boot component or the operation that passes attacker-controlled input to an OS command. Access to the local boot environment and an additional execution condition are required; successful exploitation grants control of the appliance.

CVSS severity8.9
High
EPSS probability0.18%
Next 30 days · Sep 16, 2026
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Based on sourced intelligence
Hinoki checkNot available
Coverage for this vulnerability

See if you're affected

Explore vulnerability checks for your environment with Hinoki.

Book a demo

Summary

What happened

OS command injection in Broadcom Symantec Privileged Access Management allows local users to compromise affected appliances during boot. Broadcom has not disclosed the boot component or the operation that passes attacker-controlled input to an OS command. Access to the local boot environment and an additional execution condition are required; successful exploitation grants control of the appliance.

The record

CVE
CVE-2025-24507
Published
Jan 30, 2025
Updated
Feb 5, 2025
Vendor
Symantec
Product
Symantec Privileged Access Management
Classifications
CAPEC-88, T1059
Attack vector
local
Privileges
unauthenticated

Timeline

How it unfolded

  1. Jan 30, 2025CVE publishedPublication date reported by the CVE source.
  2. Feb 5, 2025Record updatedLatest update available in the CVE record.

Exploitability

Present is not the same as exploitable

Compare your product and version with the public record. A matching version still requires validation against your environment.

Is a vulnerable build present?

Compare these published version ranges with your installed build and any vendor patches.

  1. Affected versionversion=3.4.6
  2. Affected versionversion=4.1.0 <=4.1.8
  3. Affected versionversion=4.2.0

What conditions does exploitation require?

Attack vectorlocal
Required privilegesunauthenticated

What is affected?

Symantec · Symantec Privileged Access Managementversion=3.4.6; version=4.1.0 <=4.1.8; version=4.2.0

Published CVSS scores

8.9Symantec CorporationCVSS:4.0/AV:L/AC:L/AT:P/PR:N/UI:N/VC:H/VI:H/VA:H/SC:H/SI:H/SA:H

CVSS describes severity. EPSS estimates exploitation probability.

Attacks

What attackers are doing with it

Daily unique IPs observed by Shadowserver honeypots for known exploited vulnerabilities (KEVs). Missing observations do not establish an absence of attacks.

Daily unique IPsNo honeypot observations are available for this CVE in the selected window.

No observations available

Sep 10, 2026Sep 16, 2026
Latest reporting daySep 16, 2026
Latest daily unique IPsUnavailable
Prior 30-day averageUnavailable
SourceShadowserver honeypots (KEV)
Vectorlocal
Privilegesunauthenticated
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Public exploitUnconfirmed

Weakness, pattern, technique

CAPEC-88OS Command Injection
T1059Command and Scripting Interpreter

Public exploit references

No public exploit references are available in this record.

Labels summarize the accepted research assessment. They do not indicate a test against your environment.

Technologies

Your stack

See the directory against your own environment.

Your stack

Check the software in your environment

Book a demo to see how Hinoki identifies affected software and validates exploitability in your environment.

Book a demo