CVE-2025-0161

Local code execution via improperly restricted code generation

Published Feb 20, 2025 · Updated Aug 11, 2025

Code injection in IBM Security Verify Access Appliance 10.0.0.0 through 10.0.0.9 and 11.0.0.0 allows local users to execute arbitrary code. IBM identifies improper restrictions on code generation but does not disclose the affected component, input path, or operation that accepts attacker-controlled code. Local low-privileged access is required, and exploitation needs no user interaction.

CVSS severity7.8
High
EPSS probability0.24%
Next 30 days · Sep 16, 2026
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Based on sourced intelligence
Hinoki checkNot available
Coverage for this vulnerability

See if you're affected

Explore vulnerability checks for your environment with Hinoki.

Book a demo

Summary

What happened

Code injection in IBM Security Verify Access Appliance 10.0.0.0 through 10.0.0.9 and 11.0.0.0 allows local users to execute arbitrary code. IBM identifies improper restrictions on code generation but does not disclose the affected component, input path, or operation that accepts attacker-controlled code. Local low-privileged access is required, and exploitation needs no user interaction.

The record

CVE
CVE-2025-0161
Published
Feb 20, 2025
Updated
Aug 11, 2025
Vendor
IBM
Product
IBM Security Verify Access
Classifications
CWE-94
Attack vector
local
Privileges
authenticated

Timeline

How it unfolded

  1. Feb 20, 2025CVE publishedPublication date reported by the CVE source.
  2. Aug 11, 2025Record updatedLatest update available in the CVE record.

Exploitability

Present is not the same as exploitable

Compare your product and version with the public record. A matching version still requires validation against your environment.

Is a vulnerable build present?

Compare these published version ranges with your installed build and any vendor patches.

  1. Affected versionversion=10.0.0.0 <=10.0.0.9
  2. Affected versionversion=11.0.0.0

What conditions does exploitation require?

Attack vectorlocal
Required privilegesauthenticated

What is affected?

IBM · IBM Security Verify Accessversion=10.0.0.0 <=10.0.0.9; version=11.0.0.0

Published CVSS scores

7.8IBM CorporationCVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H

CVSS describes severity. EPSS estimates exploitation probability.

Attacks

What attackers are doing with it

Daily unique IPs observed by Shadowserver honeypots for known exploited vulnerabilities (KEVs). Missing observations do not establish an absence of attacks.

Daily unique IPsNo honeypot observations are available for this CVE in the selected window.

No observations available

Sep 10, 2026Sep 16, 2026
Latest reporting daySep 16, 2026
Latest daily unique IPsUnavailable
Prior 30-day averageUnavailable
SourceShadowserver honeypots (KEV)
Vectorlocal
Privilegesauthenticated
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Public exploitUnconfirmed

Weakness, pattern, technique

CWE-94Improper Control of Generation of Code ('Code Injection')

Public exploit references

No public exploit references are available in this record.

Labels summarize the accepted research assessment. They do not indicate a test against your environment.

Technologies

Your stack

See the directory against your own environment.

Your stack

Check the software in your environment

Book a demo to see how Hinoki identifies affected software and validates exploitability in your environment.

Book a demo