CVE-2024-49784Network attack vector

Information disclosure via weakened AES-CBC storage

Published Jul 8, 2025 · Updated Aug 24, 2025

Broken encryption in IBM OpenPages 8.3 and 9.0 allows attackers with database or server-file access to disclose encrypted data. The encrypted-data storage path uses AES in CBC mode, but IBM has not disclosed the implementation error that weakens the ciphertext. Exploitation requires either remote authenticated database access or local access to server files and is limited to recovering protected values.

CVSS severity5.3
Medium
EPSS probability0.11%
Next 30 days · Sep 16, 2026
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Based on sourced intelligence
Hinoki checkNot available
Coverage for this vulnerability

See if you're affected

Explore vulnerability checks for your environment with Hinoki.

Book a demo

Summary

What happened

Broken encryption in IBM OpenPages 8.3 and 9.0 allows attackers with database or server-file access to disclose encrypted data. The encrypted-data storage path uses AES in CBC mode, but IBM has not disclosed the implementation error that weakens the ciphertext. Exploitation requires either remote authenticated database access or local access to server files and is limited to recovering protected values.

The record

CVE
CVE-2024-49784
Published
Jul 8, 2025
Updated
Aug 24, 2025
Vendor
IBM
Product
OpenPages
Classifications
CWE-327
Attack vector
network
Privileges
authenticated

Timeline

How it unfolded

  1. Jul 8, 2025CVE publishedPublication date reported by the CVE source.
  2. Aug 24, 2025Record updatedLatest update available in the CVE record.

Exploitability

Present is not the same as exploitable

Compare your product and version with the public record. A matching version still requires validation against your environment.

Is a vulnerable build present?

Compare these published version ranges with your installed build and any vendor patches.

  1. Affected versionversion=8.3
  2. Affected versionversion=9.0

What conditions does exploitation require?

Attack vectornetwork
Required privilegesauthenticated

What is affected?

IBM · OpenPagesversion=8.3; version=9.0

Published CVSS scores

6.5NIST NVDCVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:N/A:N
5.3IBMCVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:H/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:N/A:N

CVSS describes severity. EPSS estimates exploitation probability.

Attacks

What attackers are doing with it

Daily unique IPs observed by Shadowserver honeypots for known exploited vulnerabilities (KEVs). Missing observations do not establish an absence of attacks.

Daily unique IPsNo honeypot observations are available for this CVE in the selected window.

No observations available

Sep 10, 2026Sep 16, 2026
Latest reporting daySep 16, 2026
Latest daily unique IPsUnavailable
Prior 30-day averageUnavailable
SourceShadowserver honeypots (KEV)
Vectornetwork
Privilegesauthenticated
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Public exploitUnconfirmed

Weakness, pattern, technique

CWE-327Use of a Broken or Risky Cryptographic Algorithm

Public exploit references

No public exploit references are available in this record.

Labels summarize the accepted research assessment. They do not indicate a test against your environment.

Technologies

Your stack

See the directory against your own environment.

Your stack

Check the software in your environment

Book a demo to see how Hinoki identifies affected software and validates exploitability in your environment.

Book a demo