CVE-2024-37020

Local service interruption via unexpected instruction sequence

Published Feb 12, 2025 · Updated Nov 3, 2025

Instruction-sequence handling in Intel DSA 1.0 on affected processors allows local users to interrupt service through local access. Intel identifies DSA 1.0 as the locus but does not disclose the instruction sequence or hardware operation that behaves unexpectedly. Exploitation requires low-privileged local access to DSA on a listed processor; Intel reports reduced availability but does not disclose whether the result is a hang, crash, or reboot.

CVSS severity4.9
Medium
EPSS probability0.24%
Next 30 days · Sep 16, 2026
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Based on sourced intelligence
Hinoki checkNot available
Coverage for this vulnerability

See if you're affected

Explore vulnerability checks for your environment with Hinoki.

Book a demo

Summary

What happened

Instruction-sequence handling in Intel DSA 1.0 on affected processors allows local users to interrupt service through local access. Intel identifies DSA 1.0 as the locus but does not disclose the instruction sequence or hardware operation that behaves unexpectedly. Exploitation requires low-privileged local access to DSA on a listed processor; Intel reports reduced availability but does not disclose whether the result is a hang, crash, or reboot.

The record

CVE
CVE-2024-37020
Published
Feb 12, 2025
Updated
Nov 3, 2025
Vendor
Unknown vendor
Product
Unknown product
Classifications
CWE-1281, CAPEC-212, T1499.004
Attack vector
local
Privileges
authenticated

Timeline

How it unfolded

  1. Feb 12, 2025CVE publishedPublication date reported by the CVE source.
  2. Nov 3, 2025Record updatedLatest update available in the CVE record.

Exploitability

Present is not the same as exploitable

Compare your product and version with the public record. A matching version still requires validation against your environment.

Is a vulnerable build present?

Affected buildAffected product and version details are unavailable.

What conditions does exploitation require?

Attack vectorlocal
Required privilegesauthenticated

What is affected?

Affected products and versions are unavailable in this record.

Published CVSS scores

4.9Intel CorporationCVSS:4.0/AV:L/AC:L/AT:N/PR:L/UI:N/VC:N/VI:N/VA:L/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N
3.8Intel CorporationCVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:C/C:N/I:N/A:L

CVSS describes severity. EPSS estimates exploitation probability.

Attacks

What attackers are doing with it

Daily unique IPs observed by Shadowserver honeypots for known exploited vulnerabilities (KEVs). Missing observations do not establish an absence of attacks.

Daily unique IPsNo honeypot observations are available for this CVE in the selected window.

No observations available

Sep 10, 2026Sep 16, 2026
Latest reporting daySep 16, 2026
Latest daily unique IPsUnavailable
Prior 30-day averageUnavailable
SourceShadowserver honeypots (KEV)
Vectorlocal
Privilegesauthenticated
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Public exploitUnconfirmed

Weakness, pattern, technique

CWE-1281Sequence of Processor Instructions Leads to Unexpected Behavior
CAPEC-212Functionality Misuse
T1499.004Endpoint Denial of Service: Application or System Exploitation

Public exploit references

No public exploit references are available in this record.

Labels summarize the accepted research assessment. They do not indicate a test against your environment.

Technologies

Your stack

See the directory against your own environment.

Your stack

Check the software in your environment

Book a demo to see how Hinoki identifies affected software and validates exploitability in your environment.

Book a demo