CVE-2024-1184Public exploit

Application interruption via oversized registration key

Published Feb 2, 2024 · Updated Aug 29, 2024

Denial of service in the Registration Handler in Nsasoft NetworkSleuth 3.0.0.0 allows local users to interrupt the application. The handler processes a 276-byte registration key submitted through the Key field, and the application stops operating after confirmation. Local access to the application is required; public evidence does not disclose whether the interruption is a crash or hang.

CVSS severity5.5
Medium
EPSS probability0.39%
Next 30 days · Sep 16, 2026
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Based on sourced intelligence
Hinoki checkNot available
Coverage for this vulnerability

See if you're affected

Explore vulnerability checks for your environment with Hinoki.

Book a demo

Summary

What happened

Denial of service in the Registration Handler in Nsasoft NetworkSleuth 3.0.0.0 allows local users to interrupt the application. The handler processes a 276-byte registration key submitted through the Key field, and the application stops operating after confirmation. Local access to the application is required; public evidence does not disclose whether the interruption is a crash or hang.

The record

CVE
CVE-2024-1184
Published
Feb 2, 2024
Updated
Aug 29, 2024
Vendor
Nsasoft
Product
NetworkSleuth
Classifications
CWE-404
Attack vector
local
Privileges
authenticated

Timeline

How it unfolded

  1. Feb 2, 2024CVE publishedPublication date reported by the CVE source.
  2. Aug 29, 2024Record updatedLatest update available in the CVE record.

Exploitability

Present is not the same as exploitable

Compare your product and version with the public record. A matching version still requires validation against your environment.

Is a vulnerable build present?

Compare these published version ranges with your installed build and any vendor patches.

  1. Affected versionversion=3.0.0.0

What conditions does exploitation require?

Attack vectorlocal
Required privilegesauthenticated

What is affected?

Nsasoft · NetworkSleuthversion=3.0.0.0

Published CVSS scores

3.3VulDBCVSS:3.0/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:N/A:L
1.7VulDBAV:L/AC:L/Au:S/C:N/I:N/A:P
5.5NIST NVDCVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:N/A:H
3.3VulDBCVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:N/A:L

CVSS describes severity. EPSS estimates exploitation probability.

Attacks

What attackers are doing with it

Daily unique IPs observed by Shadowserver honeypots for known exploited vulnerabilities (KEVs). Missing observations do not establish an absence of attacks.

Daily unique IPsNo honeypot observations are available for this CVE in the selected window.

No observations available

Sep 10, 2026Sep 16, 2026
Latest reporting daySep 16, 2026
Latest daily unique IPsUnavailable
Prior 30-day averageUnavailable
SourceShadowserver honeypots (KEV)
Vectorlocal
Privilegesauthenticated
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Public exploitPublished

Weakness, pattern, technique

CWE-404Improper Resource Shutdown or Release

Public exploit references

Labels summarize the accepted research assessment. They do not indicate a test against your environment.

Technologies

Your stack

See the directory against your own environment.

Your stack

Check the software in your environment

Book a demo to see how Hinoki identifies affected software and validates exploitability in your environment.

Book a demo