CVE-2023-25002

Code execution via SKP component use-after-free

Published Jun 27, 2023 · Updated Dec 5, 2024

Use-after-free in the SKP component of Autodesk VRED, Revit, Navisworks, and 3ds Max allows attackers to execute code via a malicious SKP file. The component mishandles object lifetime while parsing attacker-controlled SKP content and accesses an object after freeing it; Autodesk has not disclosed the responsible routine. Affected releases vary by product from 2020 through 2023, and exploitation requires user interaction to open or import the file.

CVSS severity7.8
High
EPSS probability0.35%
Next 30 days · Sep 16, 2026
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Based on sourced intelligence
Hinoki checkNot available
Coverage for this vulnerability

See if you're affected

Explore vulnerability checks for your environment with Hinoki.

Book a demo

Summary

What happened

Use-after-free in the SKP component of Autodesk VRED, Revit, Navisworks, and 3ds Max allows attackers to execute code via a malicious SKP file. The component mishandles object lifetime while parsing attacker-controlled SKP content and accesses an object after freeing it; Autodesk has not disclosed the responsible routine. Affected releases vary by product from 2020 through 2023, and exploitation requires user interaction to open or import the file.

The record

CVE
CVE-2023-25002
Published
Jun 27, 2023
Updated
Dec 5, 2024
Vendor
Unknown vendor
Product
Unknown product
Classifications
CWE-416, T1203
Attack vector
local
Privileges
unauthenticated

Timeline

How it unfolded

  1. Jun 27, 2023CVE publishedPublication date reported by the CVE source.
  2. Dec 5, 2024Record updatedLatest update available in the CVE record.

Exploitability

Present is not the same as exploitable

Compare your product and version with the public record. A matching version still requires validation against your environment.

Is a vulnerable build present?

Affected buildAffected product and version details are unavailable.

What conditions does exploitation require?

Attack vectorlocal
Required privilegesunauthenticated

What is affected?

Affected products and versions are unavailable in this record.

Published CVSS scores

7.8NIST National Vulnerability DatabaseCVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:N/UI:R/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H

CVSS describes severity. EPSS estimates exploitation probability.

Attacks

What attackers are doing with it

Daily unique IPs observed by Shadowserver honeypots for known exploited vulnerabilities (KEVs). Missing observations do not establish an absence of attacks.

Daily unique IPsNo honeypot observations are available for this CVE in the selected window.

No observations available

Sep 9, 2026Sep 15, 2026
Latest reporting daySep 15, 2026
Latest daily unique IPsUnavailable
Prior 30-day averageUnavailable
SourceShadowserver honeypots (KEV)
Vectorlocal
Privilegesunauthenticated
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Public exploitUnconfirmed

Weakness, pattern, technique

CWE-416Use After Free
T1203Exploitation for Client Execution

Public exploit references

No public exploit references are available in this record.

Labels summarize the accepted research assessment. They do not indicate a test against your environment.

Technologies

Your stack

See the directory against your own environment.

Your stack

Check the software in your environment

Book a demo to see how Hinoki identifies affected software and validates exploitability in your environment.

Book a demo