CVE-2023-21829Network attack vector

Authenticated critical data modification and partial disclosure

Published Jan 17, 2023 · Updated Sep 17, 2024

An undisclosed flaw in Oracle Database 19c and 21c allows remote authenticated users to modify critical data via Oracle Net with user interaction. Oracle identifies the locus only as the RDBMS Security component and has not disclosed the operation that mishandles attacker-controlled input. Create Session privilege is sufficient; successful exploitation can read some accessible data and create, delete, or modify all accessible critical data.

CVSS severity6.3
Medium
EPSS probability0.45%
Next 30 days · Sep 16, 2026
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Based on sourced intelligence
Hinoki checkNot available
Coverage for this vulnerability

See if you're affected

Explore vulnerability checks for your environment with Hinoki.

Book a demo

Summary

What happened

An undisclosed flaw in Oracle Database 19c and 21c allows remote authenticated users to modify critical data via Oracle Net with user interaction. Oracle identifies the locus only as the RDBMS Security component and has not disclosed the operation that mishandles attacker-controlled input. Create Session privilege is sufficient; successful exploitation can read some accessible data and create, delete, or modify all accessible critical data.

The record

CVE
CVE-2023-21829
Published
Jan 17, 2023
Updated
Sep 17, 2024
Vendor
Oracle Corporation
Product
Oracle Database
Classifications
Unavailable
Attack vector
network
Privileges
authenticated

Timeline

How it unfolded

  1. Jan 17, 2023CVE publishedPublication date reported by the CVE source.
  2. Sep 17, 2024Record updatedLatest update available in the CVE record.

Exploitability

Present is not the same as exploitable

Compare your product and version with the public record. A matching version still requires validation against your environment.

Is a vulnerable build present?

Compare these published version ranges with your installed build and any vendor patches.

  1. Affected versionversion=19c
  2. Affected versionversion=21c

What conditions does exploitation require?

Attack vectornetwork
Required privilegesauthenticated

What is affected?

Oracle Corporation · Oracle Databaseversion=19c; version=21c

Published CVSS scores

6.3Oracle CorporationCVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:R/S:U/C:L/I:H/A:N

CVSS describes severity. EPSS estimates exploitation probability.

Attacks

What attackers are doing with it

Daily unique IPs observed by Shadowserver honeypots for known exploited vulnerabilities (KEVs). Missing observations do not establish an absence of attacks.

Daily unique IPsNo honeypot observations are available for this CVE in the selected window.

No observations available

Sep 9, 2026Sep 15, 2026
Latest reporting daySep 15, 2026
Latest daily unique IPsUnavailable
Prior 30-day averageUnavailable
SourceShadowserver honeypots (KEV)
Vectornetwork
Privilegesauthenticated
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Public exploitUnconfirmed

Weakness, pattern, technique

No sourced classifications are available.

Public exploit references

No public exploit references are available in this record.

Labels summarize the accepted research assessment. They do not indicate a test against your environment.

Technologies

Your stack

See the directory against your own environment.

Your stack

Check the software in your environment

Book a demo to see how Hinoki identifies affected software and validates exploitability in your environment.

Book a demo