CVE-2023-1526

Stored-data disclosure via physically removed hard drive

Published Apr 28, 2023 · Updated Jan 30, 2025

Information disclosure in HP DesignJet and PageWide XL TAA-compliant printers allows physically proximate attackers to access hard-drive data. HP has not disclosed which firmware component fails to protect data stored on a removed hard drive or the specific data exposed. Exploitation requires physical removal of the printer's hard drive, and the documented consequence is disclosure of stored information.

CVSS severity4.8
Medium
EPSS probability1.19%
Next 30 days · Sep 16, 2026
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Based on sourced intelligence
Hinoki checkNot available
Coverage for this vulnerability

See if you're affected

Explore vulnerability checks for your environment with Hinoki.

Book a demo

Summary

What happened

Information disclosure in HP DesignJet and PageWide XL TAA-compliant printers allows physically proximate attackers to access hard-drive data. HP has not disclosed which firmware component fails to protect data stored on a removed hard drive or the specific data exposed. Exploitation requires physical removal of the printer's hard drive, and the documented consequence is disclosure of stored information.

The record

CVE
CVE-2023-1526
Published
Apr 28, 2023
Updated
Jan 30, 2025
Vendor
Unknown vendor
Product
Unknown product
Classifications
T1005
Attack vector
physical
Privileges
unauthenticated

Timeline

How it unfolded

  1. Apr 28, 2023CVE publishedPublication date reported by the CVE source.
  2. Jan 30, 2025Record updatedLatest update available in the CVE record.

Exploitability

Present is not the same as exploitable

Compare your product and version with the public record. A matching version still requires validation against your environment.

Is a vulnerable build present?

Affected buildAffected product and version details are unavailable.

What conditions does exploitation require?

Attack vectorphysical
Required privilegesunauthenticated

What is affected?

Affected products and versions are unavailable in this record.

Published CVSS scores

4.6NIST NVDCVSS:3.1/AV:P/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:N/A:N
4.8HP Inc.CVSS:3.1/AV:P/AC:H/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:L/A:N

CVSS describes severity. EPSS estimates exploitation probability.

Attacks

What attackers are doing with it

Daily unique IPs observed by Shadowserver honeypots for known exploited vulnerabilities (KEVs). Missing observations do not establish an absence of attacks.

Daily unique IPsNo honeypot observations are available for this CVE in the selected window.

No observations available

Sep 10, 2026Sep 16, 2026
Latest reporting daySep 16, 2026
Latest daily unique IPsUnavailable
Prior 30-day averageUnavailable
SourceShadowserver honeypots (KEV)
Vectorphysical
Privilegesunauthenticated
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Public exploitUnconfirmed

Weakness, pattern, technique

T1005Data from Local System

Public exploit references

No public exploit references are available in this record.

Labels summarize the accepted research assessment. They do not indicate a test against your environment.

Technologies

Your stack

See the directory against your own environment.

Your stack

Check the software in your environment

Book a demo to see how Hinoki identifies affected software and validates exploitability in your environment.

Book a demo