CVE-2022-22412

Login access token disclosure through insufficient protection

Published Jul 26, 2022 · Updated Sep 16, 2024

Information disclosure in IBM Robotic Process Automation 21.0.0 through 21.0.2 allows physically proximate attackers to obtain a login access token. IBM identifies insufficient protection of the token on the Windows client, but has not disclosed the storage location or extraction operation. Access to the local client host is required, and the exposed token permits login as the account represented by that token.

CVSS severity4.2
Medium
EPSS probability0.33%
Next 30 days · Sep 16, 2026
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Based on sourced intelligence
Hinoki checkNot available
Coverage for this vulnerability

See if you're affected

Explore vulnerability checks for your environment with Hinoki.

Book a demo

Summary

What happened

Information disclosure in IBM Robotic Process Automation 21.0.0 through 21.0.2 allows physically proximate attackers to obtain a login access token. IBM identifies insufficient protection of the token on the Windows client, but has not disclosed the storage location or extraction operation. Access to the local client host is required, and the exposed token permits login as the account represented by that token.

The record

CVE
CVE-2022-22412
Published
Jul 26, 2022
Updated
Sep 16, 2024
Vendor
IBM
Product
IBM Robotic Process Automation
Classifications
T1528
Attack vector
physical
Privileges
unauthenticated

Timeline

How it unfolded

  1. Jul 26, 2022CVE publishedPublication date reported by the CVE source.
  2. Sep 16, 2024Record updatedLatest update available in the CVE record.

Exploitability

Present is not the same as exploitable

Compare your product and version with the public record. A matching version still requires validation against your environment.

Is a vulnerable build present?

Compare these published version ranges with your installed build and any vendor patches.

  1. Affected versionversion=21.0.0
  2. Affected versionversion=21.0.1
  3. Affected versionversion=21.0.2

What conditions does exploitation require?

Attack vectorphysical
Required privilegesunauthenticated

What is affected?

IBM · IBM Robotic Process Automationversion=21.0.0; version=21.0.1; version=21.0.2

Published CVSS scores

4.6NVDCVSS:3.1/AV:P/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:N/A:N
4.2IBMCVSS:3.0/AV:P/AC:H/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:N/A:N

CVSS describes severity. EPSS estimates exploitation probability.

Attacks

What attackers are doing with it

Daily unique IPs observed by Shadowserver honeypots for known exploited vulnerabilities (KEVs). Missing observations do not establish an absence of attacks.

Daily unique IPsNo honeypot observations are available for this CVE in the selected window.

No observations available

Sep 10, 2026Sep 16, 2026
Latest reporting daySep 16, 2026
Latest daily unique IPsUnavailable
Prior 30-day averageUnavailable
SourceShadowserver honeypots (KEV)
Vectorphysical
Privilegesunauthenticated
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Public exploitUnconfirmed

Weakness, pattern, technique

T1528Steal Application Access Token

Public exploit references

No public exploit references are available in this record.

Labels summarize the accepted research assessment. They do not indicate a test against your environment.

Technologies

Your stack

See the directory against your own environment.

Your stack

Check the software in your environment

Book a demo to see how Hinoki identifies affected software and validates exploitability in your environment.

Book a demo