CVE-2021-2156Network attack vector

Authenticated read and modification of customer data

Published Apr 22, 2021 · Updated Sep 26, 2024

Access control failure in Oracle Customers Online 12.1.3 and 12.2.3 through 12.2.10 allows remote authenticated users to read or alter data. Oracle identifies the affected locus as the Customer Tab but has not disclosed the faulty operation that mishandles authorization. Low-privileged HTTP access is sufficient to read, create, delete, or modify critical data accessible through the application.

CVSS severity8.1
High
EPSS probability1.01%
Next 30 days · Sep 16, 2026
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Based on sourced intelligence
Hinoki checkNot available
Coverage for this vulnerability

See if you're affected

Explore vulnerability checks for your environment with Hinoki.

Book a demo

Summary

What happened

Access control failure in Oracle Customers Online 12.1.3 and 12.2.3 through 12.2.10 allows remote authenticated users to read or alter data. Oracle identifies the affected locus as the Customer Tab but has not disclosed the faulty operation that mishandles authorization. Low-privileged HTTP access is sufficient to read, create, delete, or modify critical data accessible through the application.

The record

CVE
CVE-2021-2156
Published
Apr 22, 2021
Updated
Sep 26, 2024
Vendor
Oracle Corporation
Product
Oracle Customers Online
Classifications
T1213.004, T1565.003
Attack vector
network
Privileges
authenticated

Timeline

How it unfolded

  1. Apr 22, 2021CVE publishedPublication date reported by the CVE source.
  2. Sep 26, 2024Record updatedLatest update available in the CVE record.

Exploitability

Present is not the same as exploitable

Compare your product and version with the public record. A matching version still requires validation against your environment.

Is a vulnerable build present?

Compare these published version ranges with your installed build and any vendor patches.

  1. Affected versionversion=12.1.3
  2. Affected versionversion=12.2.3-12.2.10

What conditions does exploitation require?

Attack vectornetwork
Required privilegesauthenticated

What is affected?

Oracle Corporation · Oracle Customers Onlineversion=12.1.3; version=12.2.3-12.2.10

Published CVSS scores

8.1Oracle CorporationCVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:L/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:N

CVSS describes severity. EPSS estimates exploitation probability.

Attacks

What attackers are doing with it

Daily unique IPs observed by Shadowserver honeypots for known exploited vulnerabilities (KEVs). Missing observations do not establish an absence of attacks.

Daily unique IPsNo honeypot observations are available for this CVE in the selected window.

No observations available

Sep 10, 2026Sep 16, 2026
Latest reporting daySep 16, 2026
Latest daily unique IPsUnavailable
Prior 30-day averageUnavailable
SourceShadowserver honeypots (KEV)
Vectornetwork
Privilegesauthenticated
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Public exploitUnconfirmed

Weakness, pattern, technique

T1213.004Data from Information Repositories Customer Relationship Management Software
T1565.003Runtime Data Manipulation

Public exploit references

No public exploit references are available in this record.

Labels summarize the accepted research assessment. They do not indicate a test against your environment.

Technologies

Your stack

See the directory against your own environment.

Your stack

Check the software in your environment

Book a demo to see how Hinoki identifies affected software and validates exploitability in your environment.

Book a demo