CVE-2020-29502

Credential disclosure via plain-text password storage

Published Jan 5, 2021 · Updated Sep 17, 2024

Plain-text password storage in Dell EMC PowerStore before 1.0.3.0.5.007 allows local users to disclose certain user credentials. Dell has not disclosed the credential-storage locus or the operation that writes passwords without protection in PowerStore X and T environments. A locally authenticated, highly privileged account and high-complexity conditions are required; exposed credentials grant the compromised account's application privileges.

CVSS severity6.7
Medium
EPSS probability0.20%
Next 30 days · Sep 16, 2026
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Based on sourced intelligence
Hinoki checkNot available
Coverage for this vulnerability

See if you're affected

Explore vulnerability checks for your environment with Hinoki.

Book a demo

Summary

What happened

Plain-text password storage in Dell EMC PowerStore before 1.0.3.0.5.007 allows local users to disclose certain user credentials. Dell has not disclosed the credential-storage locus or the operation that writes passwords without protection in PowerStore X and T environments. A locally authenticated, highly privileged account and high-complexity conditions are required; exposed credentials grant the compromised account's application privileges.

The record

CVE
CVE-2020-29502
Published
Jan 5, 2021
Updated
Sep 17, 2024
Vendor
Dell Technologies
Product
PowerStore
Classifications
CWE-312, T1552.001
Attack vector
local
Privileges
admin

Timeline

How it unfolded

  1. Jan 5, 2021CVE publishedPublication date reported by the CVE source.
  2. Sep 17, 2024Record updatedLatest update available in the CVE record.

Exploitability

Present is not the same as exploitable

Compare your product and version with the public record. A matching version still requires validation against your environment.

Is a vulnerable build present?

Compare these published version ranges with your installed build and any vendor patches.

  1. Affected versionversion=unspecified <PowerStore SW 1.0.3.0.5.006

What conditions does exploitation require?

Attack vectorlocal
Required privilegesadmin

What is affected?

Dell Technologies · PowerStoreversion=unspecified <PowerStore SW 1.0.3.0.5.006

Published CVSS scores

7.5Dell TechnologiesCVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:H/PR:H/UI:N/S:C/C:H/I:H/A:H
6.7NIST NVDCVSS:3.1/AV:L/AC:L/PR:H/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H

CVSS describes severity. EPSS estimates exploitation probability.

Attacks

What attackers are doing with it

Daily unique IPs observed by Shadowserver honeypots for known exploited vulnerabilities (KEVs). Missing observations do not establish an absence of attacks.

Daily unique IPsNo honeypot observations are available for this CVE in the selected window.

No observations available

Sep 10, 2026Sep 16, 2026
Latest reporting daySep 16, 2026
Latest daily unique IPsUnavailable
Prior 30-day averageUnavailable
SourceShadowserver honeypots (KEV)
Vectorlocal
Privilegesadmin
Known exploitationUnconfirmed
Public exploitUnconfirmed

Weakness, pattern, technique

CWE-312Cleartext Storage of Sensitive Information
T1552.001Unsecured Credentials: Credentials In Files

Public exploit references

No public exploit references are available in this record.

Labels summarize the accepted research assessment. They do not indicate a test against your environment.

Technologies

Your stack

See the directory against your own environment.

Your stack

Check the software in your environment

Book a demo to see how Hinoki identifies affected software and validates exploitability in your environment.

Book a demo